Restless Soul

22 Apr

I saw a question on Facebook today that asked, “Are you restless in your soul? What do you think is causing it?” I immediately thought, “Those are good questions.”

It is so easy for us to go through the hustle and bustle of life until we become restless in our soul. What is interesting is that we are aware of the signs of restlessness, yet we still ignore them hoping they will magically disappear so we can continue to “hustle and bustle”. We become stressed, anxiety sets in, muscle tension and headaches become frequent, bouts of depression try to creep in etc. We become so entangled with the cares of life and this world until we hear a question that stops us in our tracks and makes us breathe a little. “Are you restless in your soul?”

If the answer to that question is ‘yes’, stop before you read the next sentence, close your eyes, take a deep breath and slowly release it. Do it again and take as long as you need before you continue.

Being ‘busy bees’ and becoming restless in our soul is not in God’s perfect will for our lives. How do I know? He tells us in Matthew 11:28-30, “28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” God makes the invitation for us to come to Him and promises that we will find rest in Him. When He says to take His yoke upon you, He wants us to take on His peaceful heart and mind in exchange for our heavy and weary yoke. He knows that restlessness and heavy burdens do not belong to us, but belong to Him.

Like Martha, we can take on tasks that God has not asked us to take on, but because we are so busy, we go and go until we are troubled and begin to ask why isn’t anyone helping. “But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me. But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.” While Martha continued to busy herself with meaningless tasks, Mary took the time to rest and sit at Jesus’ feet. (Luke 10:38-42)

What might your yoke be? Your yoke may be your job or jobs you’ve taken on, the stresses of school (which the root may be procrastination), or it may be burdens in your family; at any rate, God wants to give you His yoke of peace and rest in exchange for your restless soul.

Challenge:
I challenge you today to set aside 15 minutes to think about the things in your life that can be eliminated to free up some of your time and write them down. Begin to make immediate arrangements to cut them off. If you are having a problem thinking of what those things may be, ask yourself this question – “Is what I’m doing adding any value to God’s Kingdom, if not, why am I doing it?” Weigh the value. If the weariness in your soul is not a time issue, it may be a spiritual issue. How much time are you spending with God studying His word and resting in His presence? For some this may be hard, but challenge yourself to set aside 15 minutes of quiet time to listen to worship music and simply thank God. Do not ask Him for anything, simply thank Him for who He is. Then spend the next 15 minutes in His word and allow Him to speak to your heart.

Let’s Pray
Father, I come to you today to first say thank you for all you’ve done in my life. Lord, I’m asking for your yoke of peace and rest in exchange for my heavy yoke of restlessness. Forgive me if I have been out of your will. You promised to give me rest, now Lord, please give me the wisdom to make the decisions necessary to receive that promise. I love you Lord and receive your yoke upon me on this day. I ask these things and all things in Jesus’ precious name. ~Amen~

His Truly,
Just Lanita  (c)

One Response to “Restless Soul”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We become self-absorbed and immersed in the hustle and bustle « Transient Reflections - July 1, 2012

    [...] Restless Soul (justlanita.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,213 other followers

